There are five sections on the LSAT: Logical Reasoning, Analytical Reasoning, Reading Comprehension, an unscored Experimental Section, and the Essay. While your Essay (or Writing Sample) won't be scored, it will be sent to any law schools to which you apply.

More about the LSAT Test:
Logical Reasoning
  • 2 sections, each about 25 questions
  • 35 minutes per section
  • Tests ability to determine main points of arguments, apply logic to abstract concepts, find relevant information within a text, and analyze and evaluate arguments
Analytical Reasoning
  • About 25 questions, 35 minutes total
  • Tests ability to understand effects of rules on decisions and outcomes, determine relationships between concepts, analyze situations and draw conclusions based on set guidelines, and apply logic to ambiguous or complex situations
Reading Comprehension
  • About 27 questions, 35 minutes total
  • 4 sections – 3 with longer passages, and 1 with shorter passages
  • Tests ability to draw inferences based on text, determine main ideas of passages, find relevant information within a text, understand a dense, scholarly text
Essay Section
  • 35 minutes
  • Tests ability to form an argument based on given facts, support an argument, use written English to express an idea